A woman selling balila in Alsouq Alarabi / ببيع بليلة في السوق العربي

Arabic, English

“ببيع بليلة وشاي كل يوم بعد الشاعة 2 في السوق العربي ، كل النسوان بيدفعوا 5 جنيه كل يوم لأسياد الدكاكين الجنبهم عشان يدخلوا حاجاتم في الدكان لمن الكشة تجي”

ذهبت مـ. بتشتري سكر وعندما عادت وجدت أوانيها، موقدها وكل ممتلكاتها مصادرة بواسطة المحلية، عندما ذهبت لمباني المحلية لم تجد موقدها.

مـ. لا تملك كرت صحي أو رخصة عمل. وعدها موظفوا الرعاية الاجتماعية بمساعدتها لاستخراج الكرت الصحي ورخصة العمل وقاموا بتسجيل إسمها مع عدد من النساء العاملات في السوق العربي ولكن شيئاً لم يحدث.

مـ. وعدد من زميلاتها في السوق العربي إتفقن على أن ارتفاع تكلفة استخراج الكرت الصحي ورخص العمل، كما افقن على أن السلطات “الاّ الشاي دة عندهم معاهو مشطلة بس” ويعتقدن أن السلطات لا تضايق بائعات الطعام وبائعات الخضر والفواكه

I work daily after 2 pm in Alsouq Alarabi, selling balila and tea. All the women there are paying 5 SDG daily for the nearby shop owners to keep their things inside their shops when there is a police ambush. One day I went to buy some sugar, when I came back I found that all my utensils were confiscated by the police officers. When I went to the locality quarters I didn’t find my stove. I don’t have a license or a health certificate. Social welfare officers used to visit us and register our names but they didn’t issue us any papers as promised.

Her and most of the women agreed that licenses are very expensive. Apparently the authorities have a problem with tea ladies. They don’t ask food sellers or fruits and vegetables sellers but only tea ladies, many other street vendors claimed.

